Christmas 2012

Posted: November 27, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It’s Christmas time again. It’s time for everyone to flood the stores and buy presents for everyone in their family. Holly jolly music fills the stores and radio stations and people bounce around wishing each other a “Merry Christmas” or “Happy Holidays”.

People put too much stock in Christmas in my opinion. Maybe I have such a melancholy attitude towards the holidays because it’s such a depressing time for me. All year long people are so hateful, jealous, envious and spiteful. They whisper rumors and low-grade anyone different from them. They shoot others, stab them (even if it’s invisibly in the back) and act as if their shit doesn’t stink. But, let this time of year roll around and everyone pretends they are so in love with life and others.

Faulty wishes for peace and joy while wishes for bombings and killings are going on daily. Every day this year, I have seen images of people beaten for being gay, for being Muslim, for being “different”. I’ve seen and read stories of dog’s drug behind pickup trucks and stabbed because the person was angry at their girlfriend. I’ve heard stories from vets and rescuers of cats being set on fire for simply being a non-preferred animal of choice.

Human beings are doing this on a daily basis yet they have the balls to put up Christmas trees, smile, and give hugs in nothing more than an attempt to get that gift on December 25th. I may be a Grinch and hold onto the evil people do, but think of me as the reverse of this Santa person who is evidently blind to everyday deeds except those performed after Thanksgiving.

I don’t believe there is a Santa… not even in the heart of humans. Not even me. I am not pure and innocent and neither is anyone of you. No one deserves a gift at Christmas. Not one human being alive deserves a single thing at this time of year and I will tell you why.

I think I am one of the best people to observe others and their generosity, kindness and compassion for others. And honestly, it only happens once a year for most folks. I have no parents, no grandparents or siblings. I have a son who has his own family and has totally forgotten the old one. I have my husband and my animals and that suits me fine. True, there are a few people out there I call friend but they are few and far between.

Throughout the year I have seen some wicked shit. People coming to blows and cursing one another for holding different beliefs then saying in the name of their religion, their political party, their belief that it is right the other should suffer. What kind of love for humanity is that? What kind of compassion is it to walk passed a homeless “beggar” and clutch your Gucci handbag close while on your way to Neiman Marcus? That man may have fought a war for your right to walk to that store to buy your next pair of designer heels.

Are people aware that there are more veterans on the street than actual “bums”? Are people aware that the homeless could actually get off the street and be productive in society if just given a hand up? When were you NOT given a hand up? Every one reading this was given something in life that led them to being able to read this and enjoy their day. Perhaps it was your parents, a teacher, a fireman that saved your house when you were a kid, the car your uncle passed down to you. How many of us actually count our blessings that REALLY happened? NONE! Oh yes, there are those religious miracles… like that time you found a $20.00 bill laying on the curb. You were so happy God left it there for you, yet, at the same time a single mother is crying she lost the same $20.00 that would have bought her child formula. That is NOT a religious miracle from God or anyone else.

You know what Christmas is about? It’s about unconditional love, giving, compassion, caring and loyalty to all and doing it all year long. If you are not acting Christmassy all year, you deserve no gift for a fake pretend care during a month long span. Why should you get a “thanks for being in my address book” when you hated me during the presidential race?

You know there is one group who does deserve Christmas gifts. There is only one group that deserves a real thank you for loving me, caring about me and not judging me or even you. That is the animal group. Cats, dogs, fishes and frogs. Horses and cows and pigs and goats and chickens and apes, lions and turtles. Only our animal friends know the real meaning of Christmas and partake in it year round. Are they judgmental? Are they hateful and spread falsehoods behind your back? NO! They greet you, love unconditionally and never dump you at the “pound” for forgetting your manners. We are the lesser beings and don’t deserve a damned thing.

Beth Ladnier

2012

What do you think?